Association of Anatomical Pathology Technology


AAPT Council Nominations 2016

Are you interested in joining the AAPT Council?

There are six seats available on Council for election at the 24th September 2016 Annual General Meeting in Eastbourne

Council is bound by the aims and objectives of the AAPT and the Constitution.

It is the governing body for the AAPT and consists of four Executive members – the Chair, President, Vice-Chair and Treasurer – and up to eight ordinary Council members. Council also has the ability to co-opt members as and when necessary, and invites regional leads to ensure appropriate two-way communication at a local and national level.

It is responsible for setting the strategic direction for the AAPT and all Council members sign up to, and abide by, a Code of Professional Conduct.

The honorary officers

The Chair of the AAPT is Ishbel Gall FAAPT, Dr Mike Osborn is President, John Pitchers FAAPT is Vice-Chair and the Treasurer duties are performed by David Scott FAAPT.

Who can stand for Council?

The individual will need to be a Fellow or Member and be nominated by another member of the AAPT. You will require diplomacy and the ability to fully understand AAPT policy and discuss confidential issues with a broad outlook of the profession.

All nominations standing for Council election or re-election must be professionally registered by the AGM with the Academy for Healthcare Science to support the policy of regulation of APT staff.

Time commitments

As a Council member you will need to attend a minimum of 3 meetings per annum and you will likely be expected to join one of the sub-committees or working groups in areas such as education, CPD, conference planning and paediatrics. There is no payment for work undertaken as a member of Council although reasonable expenses are reimbursed.

A postal vote will be required if there are more than one nomination. All nominations will require approval at the AGM.

The nomination form is downloadable and should be received by the Association Secretariat no later than Friday 24th June 2016.

If you would like an informal chat with regard to the role, please contact the Secretary Christian Burt on 0207 278 2151, Chair Ishbel Gall on 01224 553704 or email

Christian can also give you contact details of any current Council members you may wish to speak to.

News archive


Sponsors of