Association of Anatomical Pathology Technology


Welcome to new Council members

There were 6 places on Council up for election and the AAPT are delighted that Lydia Judge-Kronis FAAPT, Michelle Lancaster FAAPT and John Pitchers FAAPT were nominated and will be officially ratified at the Annual General Meeting on Saturday 22nd September 2012.

Lydia, Michelle and John will be a major asset to the AAPT and your profession with their determination to promote anatomical pathology technology and its practitioners.

What they said:

John Pitchers: “I believe the success of the professional body depends upon increasing the engagement of the wider APT workforce, and by addressing the feeling of division that has developed in recent years. A true schism must be avoided at all costs, as a divided approach is a weak approach and diminishes us in the eyes of others with who we may be looking to work or influence” John was nominated by Lydia Judge-Kronis FAAPT

Michelle Lancaster: “Having attended the AAPT Survey feedback meeting, it gave me the opportunity to see the positive steps being made to facilitate change…I would like to be involved in the positive changes occurring and feel that my experience and knowledge could and should be utilised” Michelle was nominated by James Lowell FAAPT

Lydia Judge-Kronis: “I am passionate about the importance of becoming recognised and registered healthcare practitioners. I feel it is time everyone recognised our profession for the hard-working, well educated, proactive and caring professionals that we are” Lydia was nominated by Ben Deakin MAAPT

Would you like to become a co-opted Council member?

With 3 places still available, Council will consider any member who has specific expertise in a field of anatomical pathology technology for co-option.

In the first instance, please email the Chair James Lowell at if you wish to be considered for co-option. In particular, the AAPT would be keen to hear from those involved in education and training.

About Council

Council is bound by the aims and objectives of the AAPT and the Constitution.

It is the governing body for the AAPT and consists of four Executive members – the Chair, President, Vice-Chair and Treasurer – and up to eight ordinary Council members. Council also has the option to co-opt members as and when necessary, and invites regional leads to Council meetings to ensure appropriate two-way communication at a local and national level.

It is responsible for setting the strategic direction for the AAPT and all Council members sign up to, and abide by, a Code of Professional Conduct.

News archive


Sponsors of